A boy who is 9 years old or is in the third grade is a Bear, and his adventures are found in the Bear Handbook.

Like all other new Cub Scouts, a Bear must first earn his Bobcat rank. After completing the requirements for Bobcat he may go on to complete the requirements for the Wolf rank and the many electives that are offered for his rank.


The den meeting plans for the Bear rank adventures are found in the Bear Den Leader Guide along with other tips and hints for running a fun Cub Scout Program.


Bear Scouts work toward the Bear rank. The Bear rank is earned by completing seven adventures as described below.
  1. Complete each of the following Bear required adventures with your den or family:
    a. Bear Claws
    b. Bear Necessities
    c. Fellowship and Duty to God
    d. Fur, Feathers, and Ferns
    e. Grin and Bear It
    f. Paws for Action
  2. Complete one Bear elective adventure of your den or family’s choosing.
  3. With your parent or guardian, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your
    Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide, and earn the Cyber Chip award for your age.